17
Jan
11

Searching for inspirado…

Inspiration… it can be a hard thing to come by sometimes.
It is now winter, the time of year when work slows down for me, leaving me a great amount of free time to pursue new creative endeavors. Which so far, have manifested in the form of this very web comic.
And as much fun as I have had creating it so far, sometimes I find it hard to pick up that pencil and start drawing. Today is one of those times. Maybe I just don’t feel like drawing, maybe I’m afraid to start a new page, or maybe I’m just lacking in inspiration…
So what does one do in this situation? If I were Grant Morrison, perhaps I would try going on some sort of vision quest with a head full of LSD, or visit sacred peyote grounds and write about my experiences. But, clearly I am not Grant Morrison. So what do I turn to?

Coffee. That’s right, coffee.

Nothing gets my brain percolating like good old fashioned caffeine. Lately I’ve been drinking between 2 and 5 cups a day. So, basically what I’m saying is, inspiration can only be artificially achieved through some form of substance abuse. That’s about it. That’s the moral of this story kids. So, I guess it’s time for another cup o’ the good stuff!

my new hero

7 Responses to “Searching for inspirado…”


  1. 1 philbyday
    January 20, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    Roadblock? Hit the wall? Yeah, I’ve been there. While there’s no 4mula that’s ever been “my” way of beating the blahs, I do believe that u have 2 surround yourself w/ that…that fuels your imagination; be it music, art, or whathavya. But hey, sometimes its no crime 2 just not wanting 2 put pen or pencil 2 paper (unless that’s your profession)…that’s a whole dif kettle of fish right there.

    In the meantime I’m gonna try 2 take some of my own advice(?) and do some pages 2nite, or not. :-)+

  2. January 22, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Clearly not Grant Morrison? How can you be sure? Maybe this all a dream that Grant Morrison is having right now. Or maybe Grant is writing a character that’s having this dream or maybe the character is reading a silver age comic book about another charcter having this dream in the future or…

  3. January 28, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    I know the feeling of hitting a wall creatively, ya just have to push through. Take breaks when you need too, but never stop drawing for long.

    • January 29, 2011 at 4:19 pm

      yeah, that’s exactly what happened. Lately I’ve been trying to push out as many pages as i can, but if i’m not really in the mood to draw, the work suffers. So a break was definitely needed.


Leave a Reply

Pobra (Rob) (Me)

the king’s calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


